Uncategorized

Female Book Characters I Love!

Hello, and welcome back! I thought that I would share a list of a few of my favourite female book characters, and why I love them so much. Now, don’t get me wrong – I love a million more lovely ladies in books, but these are my top few that really hit a chord with me.

Celaena Sardothien

throne-of-glass-image-throne-of-glass-36562501-326-500

Celaena is one of the few female protagonists that have their own little niche in my heart. Everything about her is just so human, so raw and real – reading about her in Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series was an absolute pleasure. She’s also one hell of a fighter, sassy, sarcastic – you name those fiery attributes and she’s most likely got it!

Just to clarify, I’m talking about Celaena Sardothien, and not Aelin Galathynius. And you might be like whaaaaat? But DUDE she’s the same person. Let me tell you something: she’s not. Not really. But more on that in a future blog post.

Drusilla Blackthorn

tumblr_nr2eokc9yd1u6e8u9o6_500

Drusilla Blackthorn is the sixth child from the Blackthorn family in Cassandra Clare’s The Dark Artifices series. She is the first fictional character I’ve ever read that has insecurities so real and true and relatable (not to mention that she’s plus-sized by definition). Her quiet but brave thirteen-year-old personality is what we get to see in Lady Midnight and Lord of Shadows, and something in me aches for her to have a happy ending. When The Wicked Powers series gets published, I’m sure we’ll get to know her a little better.

Mia Thermopolis

princess23

Okay, this one was a given. Which girl out there that’s read The Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot doesn’t love Mia? She’s relatable in a far-off manner, but her quirks and personality and thoughts are absolutely page-flipping hilarious. While I felt like some of that childish aspect of her really dulled out in the last two or three books, you can’t help but love her as she was in beginning of the series anyway.

Luna Lovegood

tumblr_mz1enxn0dk1toes7no2_500

I felt for Luna Lovegood. I really did. There’s not much I can say about her except for the fact that I saw her in me.

Nancy Drew

nancy-drew-gif-1444092478

Gotta throw in a couple of the classics, right? I admire Nancy’s determination and the fact that she knows curiosity killed the cat, but continues on doing what she does anyway. She’s a freaking genius.

Tessa Gray

000ad1f42525d72e6bce6df18ff07fc3

She loved two guys. She couldn’t be with two guys. But she ended up getting both of them at different points in her life anyway. Her love for reading and her belief in books and strong women are probably what landed her on this list. Also… she’s from Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices. Pretty much all of the characters in TID were lovable.

Scarlett Adams

63c76b87d224448f92c0932e582b2ba2

She was a normal teenager in a world full of horrors. If you don’t know who Scarlett is, then give Anthony Horowitz’s The Power of Five series a read. Her character development was great throughout the two books of that series that she featured in.

 

And that pretty much concludes my list (for now, at least!)! Who are your favourite female characters, and why?

Signature

Leave a Reply

